Victor Vasarely

“With the detachment from the figurative we have disconnected from the anecdotal: pure plasticity breaks from what is literal. An approach to the mathematical sciences emerges [...].” – Victor Vasarely

Victor Vasarely (1908–1997) is one of the main exponents of op art.

His interest in abstract shapes began during his youth when he saw the geometrically malformed tiles in the subway stations of Budapest and was able to imagine movement forwards and backwards in the cracks and tears in the tiles. This anecdote defines what sets Vasarely’s artworks apart: he is able to optically break up the two-dimensional aspect of the canvas and the paper by lining up color surfaces. The pieces develop differently in the eye of the observer depending on the perspective they are viewed from. Optical illusions are created, like individual color surfaces appearing to rotate or vibrate, as well as an impression of three-dimensionality.

In his Yellow Manifesto Vasarely formulated his demand for artworks as prototypes. According to this manifesto, artwork should be created out of repeatable shapes to make it possible to duplicate. This explains Vasarely’s work on tile designs and reliefs for public buildings, for example. He sees his surfaces as theoretically endless patterns/ornaments.

Vasarely took part in documenta I–IV and was distinguished with art prizes and honors very early on, including the Guggenheim Prize in 1964 and his appointment as Chevalier of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in Paris in 1965.

His works can be found in all of the world’s most important museums, including the Guggenheim Museum in New York or Bilbao. Various museums dedicated to his body of work have also been opened, including in Aix-en-Provence and in the artist’s home city of Pécs.

► Find out more about Victor Vasarely and other exponents of op art in our artist focus.

17 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Attila
Vasarely, Victor
Attila
€1,900.00 *
Bi-Sanction
Vasarely, Victor
Bi-Sanction
€950.00 *
Firka
Vasarely, Victor
Firka
Content 15
€1,700.00 *
Gordes Nives
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Nives
€1,400.00 *
Gordes Tabor
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Tabor
€1,400.00 *
Kat-Zag
Vasarely, Victor
Kat-Zag
€1,980.00 *
La Certa
Vasarely, Victor
La Certa
€1,400.00 *
Ohne Titel XLIII
Vasarely, Victor
Ohne Titel XLIII
€2,200.00 *
Ohne Titel XLV
Vasarely, Victor
Ohne Titel XLV
€2,200.00 *
Ohne Titel XLVI
Vasarely, Victor
Ohne Titel XLVI
€2,200.00 *
Sans Titre 2
Vasarely, Victor
Sans Titre 2
€980.00 *
Togonne
Vasarely, Victor
Togonne
€2,330.00 *

Victor Vasarely

»Durch die Loslösung vom Figurativen haben wir das Anekdotische ausgeschaltet: die reine Plastizität bricht mit dem Literarischen. Eine Annäherung an die mathematischen Wissenschaften zeichnet sich ab […].« – Victor Vasarely

Victor Vasarely (1908-1997) gilt als einer der Hauptvertreter der Op-Art.

Sein Interesse an abstrakten Formen entstand in der Jugendzeit, als er in den U-Bahnstationen von Budapest die geometrisch verbauten Kacheln sah und sich in den Rissen und Sprüngen der Fliesen Vor- und Rücksprünge vorstellen konnte. Diese Anektdote definiert bereits das, was Vasarelys Kunstwerke ausmacht: er schafft es, die Zweidimensionale der Leinwand und des Papiers durch Aneinanderreihung von Farbflächen optisch aufzubrechen. Je nach Blickwinkel entwickeln die Werke sich im Auge des Betrachters auf eine andere Weise. Es entstehen optische Illusionen wie z.B. Drehung oder Zittern der einzelnen Farbflächen sowie der Eindruck von Dreidimensionalität.

In seinem Gelben Manifest formulierte Vasarely seine Forderung nach dem Kunstwerk als Prototypen. Diesem Manifest zufolge sollte das Kunstwerk aus wiederholbaren Formen ebenso bestehen, wie es selbst zur Vervielfältigung geeignet sein sollte. So erklärt sich auch Vasarelys Arbeit an bspw. Fliesenmustern oder Reliefs für öffentliche Gebäude. Er denkt seine Flächen als theoretisch unendliche Muster/Ornamente.

Vasarely nahm an der documenta I – IV teil und wurde schon früh mit Kunstpreisen und Ehrungen bedacht, darunter der Guggenheim-Preis von 1964 und die Ernennung zum Ritter des Ordens für Kunst und Literatur in Paris 1965.

Seine Werken finden sich in allen wichtigen Museen auf der ganzen Welt, bspw. dem Guggenheim Museum in New York oder in Bilbao. Außerdem eröffneten verschiedene Museen, die sich seinem Oeuvre widmen, u.a. in Aix-en-Provence und Pécs, der Heimatstadt des Künstlers.

► Erfahren Sie mehr über Victor Vasarely und andere Vertreter der Op-Art in unserem Künstler-Special

22 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Gordes Kidio
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Kidio
1.500,00 €
Kat-Zag
Vasarely, Victor
Kat-Zag
1.320,00 €
Ohne Titel XLIII
Vasarely, Victor
Ohne Titel XLIII
1.870,00 €
Ohne Titel XLV
Vasarely, Victor
Ohne Titel XLV
1.870,00 €
Ohne Titel XLVI
Vasarely, Victor
Ohne Titel XLVI
1.870,00 €
Attila
Vasarely, Victor
Attila
1.800,00 €
Bi-Sanction
Vasarely, Victor
Bi-Sanction
950,00 €
Firka
Vasarely, Victor
Firka
1.500,00 €
Gordes Cheyt OND
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Cheyt OND
1.500,00 €
Gordes Mappe mit 12 Blatt
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Mappe mit 12 Blatt
8.960,00 €
Gordes Nives
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Nives
1.400,00 €
Gordes Tabor
Vasarely, Victor
Gordes Tabor
1.400,00 €