Gerhard Richter

Gerhard Richter (1932, Dresden) is one of the most important contemporary artists.

In the Art Compass, the prestigious ranking of the world's most sought-after contemporary artists published by Capital magazine, Richter has held first place for years. He is one of the most expensive living contemporary artists. Richter's works can be found in the world's most prestigious museums, such as the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Tate Modern in London and the Museum Folkwang in Essen.

Richter studied at the Dresden Academy of Fine Arts from 1951-1961, fled to West Germany in 1961 and continued his studies at the Düsseldorf Art Academy until 1964, among others with Karl Otto Götz. Between 1971 and 1993 he taught there himself as a professor of painting. His companions at the academy included Günther Uecker and Gotthard Graubner.

Gerhard Richter's oeuvre is more multifaceted than almost any other. Richter has, for example, placed glass installations in space, designed windows of the Cologne Cathedral, painted over photographs or created abstract paintings. Due to the variance in his oeuvre, his works are full of contradiction and discontinuity in reception: from blurred paintings based on photographs, photorealistic depictions of nature, paintings of the highest abstraction to glass and mirror objects and installations. All these themes are not found one after the other as developmental strands of his oeuvre, but the artist takes up these diverse approaches again and again. The cohesion is provided by Gerhard Richter's experimental and exploratory engagement with the present.

"Good pictures are also incomprehensible." - Gerhard Richter

4 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Abstraktes Bild
Richter, Gerhard
Abstraktes Bild
€290.00 *
Abstraktes Bild
Richter, Gerhard
Abstraktes Bild
€290.00 *
Victoria I
NEW
Richter, Gerhard
Victoria I
€4,900.00 *
Victoria II
NEW
Richter, Gerhard
Victoria II
€4,900.00 *

Gerhard Richter

Gerhard Richter (1932, Dresden) ist einer der bedeutendsten Künstler der Gegenwart.

Im Kunstkompass, dem vom Magazin Capital herausgegebenen angesehenen Ranking der weltweit gefragtesten Künstler der Gegenwart, hat Richter seit Jahren den ersten Platz inne. Er gehört zu den teuersten lebenden Gegenwartskünstlern. Richters Werke finden sich in den renommiertesten Museen weltweit, etwa im Museum of Modern Art in New York, der Tate Modern in London oder dem Museum Folkwang in Essen.

Richter studierte von 1951-1961 an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden, floh 1961 nach Westdeutschland und setzte sein Studium bis 1964 an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf fort, u.a. bei Karl Otto Götz. Zwischen 1971 und 1993 lehrte er dort selbst als Professor für Malerei. Weggefährten an der Akademie waren u.a. Günther Uecker oder Gotthard Graubner.

Das Oeuvre von Gerhard Richter ist so facettenreich wie kaum ein anderes. Richter hat etwa Glas-Installationen in den Raum gestellt, Fenster des Kölner Doms gestaltet, Fotografien übermalt oder abstrakte Bilder geschaffen. Durch die Varianz in seinem Werk sind seine Arbeiten in der Rezeption voller Widerspruch und Diskontinuität: Von unscharfen Gemälden nach Fotografien, fotorealistischen Naturdarstellungen, Gemälden höchster Abstraktion bis hin zu Glas- und Spiegelobjekten und Installationen. All diese Themen finden sich nicht nacheinander als Entwicklungsstränge seines Oeuvres, sondern der Künstler greift diese vielfältigen Vorgehensweisen immer wieder auf. Den Zusammenhalt bietet Gerhard Richters experimentierende und forschende Auseinandersetzung mit der Gegenwart.

“Gute Bilder sind auch unverständlich.“ – Gerhard Richter

4 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Abstraktes Bild
Richter, Gerhard
Abstraktes Bild
290,00 €
Abstraktes Bild
Richter, Gerhard
Abstraktes Bild
290,00 €
Victoria I
NEU
Richter, Gerhard
Victoria I
4.900,00 €
Victoria II
NEU
Richter, Gerhard
Victoria II
4.900,00 €