Katharina Stangler

The upcoming artist Katharina Stangler (born 1982) graduated from the Düsseldorf Art Academy in 2018 under Prof. Andreas Schulze and has been working in Düsseldorf ever since. Currently, the artist is transforming an old farm in the countryside into a home and studio.

Towards the end of her studies, Katharina Stangler developed a painting technique in which the color pigments, applied in gestural and loose movements, can move freely on and in the water-soaked cotton fabric of her canvases. The artist mostly uses indigo pigment, which after application moves through the pictorial space together with the water in the fabric - sometimes in broad, waterfall-like cascades, sometimes as fine ramifications where the pigment blooms out into the fabric.

In her editions, the depth of the color space is transferred through the use of a textured paper. Here, too, the aforementioned color gradients and reactions appear on the background of the painting, inviting a detailed examination of each work. While the small formats such as »Indian« and »A Boy's Face« appear - albeit highly stylized - like portraits and thus enter into a direct dialogue with the viewers, the encounter with the large-format work »Hand« is of a more performative nature: with her gaze, the person on the right initially fixes the viewers from a distance, after which their eyes, following the color, glide down the two bodies to the lower edge of the picture in a flow that becomes increasingly abstract. Seen from close up, small color nuances of cyan and purple can be discovered, while the individual, figurative elements continue to blur into a color space.
► Find out more about Katharina Stangler: this way !

18 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Hand
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Hand
€1,200.00 *
A Boy's Face
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
A Boy's Face
€390.00 *
Indian
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Indian
€390.00 *
Here we go
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Here we go
Preis auf Anfrage
Portrait mit Blumen
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Portrait mit Blumen
Preis auf Anfrage
Ein Paar
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Ein Paar
Preis auf Anfrage
Boy thinks about
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Boy thinks about
Preis auf Anfrage
Portrait
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Portrait
Preis auf Anfrage
Halbmond
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Halbmond
Preis auf Anfrage
Small Painting
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Small Painting
Preis auf Anfrage
Mirror Mirror
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
Mirror Mirror
Preis auf Anfrage
New Babe
NEW
Stangler, Katharina
New Babe
Preis auf Anfrage

Katharina Stangler

Die aufstrebende Künstlerin Katharina Stangler (geb. 1982) machte 2018 an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf bei Prof. Andreas Schulze Ihren Abschluss und war seither in Düsseldorf tätig. Gerade wandelt die Künstlerin einen alten Hof auf dem Land zu Wohn- und Atelierhaus um.

Zum Ende Ihres Studiums hin entwickelte Katharina Stangler eine Maltechnik, bei der sich die in gestischen und lockeren Bewegungen aufgetragenen Farbpigmente auf und in dem mit Wasser getränkten Baumwollgewebe Ihrer Leinwände frei bewegen können. Die Künstlerin benutzt zumeist Indigo-Pigment, welches nach dem Auftrag zusammen mit dem Wasser im Gewebe durch den Bildraum zieht – mal in breiten, wasserfallähnlichen Kaskaden, mal als feine Verästelungen, wo das Pigment in den Stoff ausblüht.

In Ihren Editionen überträgt sich die Tiefe des Farbraumes durch den Gebrauch eines strukturierten Papieres. Auch hier erscheinen die angesprochenen Farbverläufe und Reaktionen auf dem Bildgrund und laden zu einer detaillierten Betrachtung der einzelnen Werke ein. Während die kleinen Formate wie »Indian« und »A Boy’s Face« – wenn auch stark stilisiert – wie Porträts erscheinen und dadurch in einen direkten Dialog zu den Betrachtenden treten, ist die Begegnung mit dem großformatigen Werk »Hand« von eher performativer Natur: Mit ihrem Blick fixiert die rechte Person die Betrachtenden zunächst aus der Ferne, wonach deren Augen der Farbe folgend in einem immer abstrakter werdenden Fluss an den zwei Körpern bis zum unteren Bildrand hinuntergleiten. Von nahem betrachtet sind kleine Farbnuancen von Cyan und Lila zu entdecken, während die einzelnen, figurativen Elemente weiter zu einem Farbraum verschwimmen.

19 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Hand
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Hand
1.200,00 €
A Boy's Face
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
A Boy's Face
390,00 €
Indian
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Indian
390,00 €
Here we go
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Here we go
Preis auf Anfrage
Portrait mit Blumen
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Portrait mit Blumen
Preis auf Anfrage
Ein Paar
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Ein Paar
Preis auf Anfrage
Boy thinks about
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Boy thinks about
Preis auf Anfrage
Portrait
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Portrait
Preis auf Anfrage
Halbmond
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Halbmond
Preis auf Anfrage
Small Painting
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Small Painting
Preis auf Anfrage
Mirror Mirror
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
Mirror Mirror
Preis auf Anfrage
New Babe
NEU
Stangler, Katharina
New Babe
Preis auf Anfrage