Via Lewandowsky

The Berlin artist Via Lewandowsky is one of the most prominent conceptual artists of contemporary art in Germany.

Vita of the artist

Via Lewandowsky (* 1963 in Dresden) works with various media such as photography, painting, drawing, performance, light installation, object art and sound. He studied at the Dresden University of Fine Arts in the 1980s. There he organized subversive performances with the avant-garde group "Autoperforationsartisten", which undermined the official art scene. Shortly before reunification, he left the GDR and moved to West Berlin. This was followed by longer stays abroad, including in New York, Rome, Beijing, Moscow and Vienna. Today the artist lives and works in Berlin.

Collections with works by Via Lewandowsky

Via Lewandowsky's works are represented in many national and international collections, including in Germany: Berlinische Galerie, Berlin; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Collection of Contemporary Art of the Federal Republic of Germany, Bonn; DZ Bank Art Collection, Frankfurt a. Main; Bauhaus Museum, Weimar.

Exhibition projects and awards

Via Lewandowsky was a participant in documenta IX in Kassel. Many museum exhibitions and exhibition projects at home and abroad in renowned institutions followed, including: Ludwig Forum, Aachen; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf; Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig; Kunsthalle zu Kiel; Casa di Goethe, Rome; Q21 Museumsquartier; Vienna; PS 1 Contemporary Art Center, New York. Via Lewandowsky's work has been awarded various prestigious art prizes.

Leitmotifs of Via Lewandowsky's art

The leitmotifs of Via Lewandowsky's art include communication, its failure and the creation of misunderstandings, as well as everyday objects.

Everyday objects and situations

Via Lewandowsky brings wonder and amazement to the everyday. In many of his works, the artist incorporates everyday objects or presents everyday situations in order to derive further questions and themes from them. In doing so, he often focuses on aspects such as the absurd or paradoxical nature of objects and situations.

The satirical in Via Lewandowsky's work

Many of his sculptural-installative works aim to deconstruct and reshape the meaning of the original objects and situations presented. Via Lewandowsky treats them with satire, anti-pathos and tragic-comedy. This links his art to Fluxus and Surrealism.

Our recommendation: The new work by Via Lewandowsky

„Glanz der Auslassung/ Apostroph“ – A fascinating object!

6 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Glanz der Auslassung / Apostroph, 2023
NEW
Lewandowsky, Via
Glanz der Auslassung / Apostroph, 2023
€15,000.00 *
Und dann das, 2021
NEW
Lewandowsky, Via
Und dann das, 2021
€9,600.00 *
Ain't it some surprise, 2022
NEW
Lewandowsky, Via
Ain't it some surprise, 2022
€13,000.00 *
Klinkerklunker, 2021
NEW
Lewandowsky, Via
Klinkerklunker, 2021
€6,800.00 *
Goldene Schnitte, 2021
NEW
Lewandowsky, Via
Goldene Schnitte, 2021
€35,000.00 *
Goldene Schnitte, 2020
NEW
Lewandowsky, Via
Goldene Schnitte, 2020
€6,900.00 *

Via Lewandowsky

Der Berliner Künstler Via Lewandowsky zählt zu den profiliertesten Konzept-Künstlern der zeitgenössischen Kunst in Deutschland.

Vita des Künstlers

Via Lewandowsky (* 1963 in Dresden) arbeitet mit verschiedenen Medien, wie Fotografie, Malerei, Zeichnung, Performance, Lichtinstallation, Objektkunst und Sound. Er studierte in den 1980er-Jahren an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden. Dort veranstaltete er mit der Avantgardegruppe der „Autoperforationsartisten“ subversive Performances, die den offiziellen Kunstbetrieb unterliefen. Kurz vor der Wende verließ er die DDR und zog nach West-Berlin. Es folgen längere Aufenthalte im Ausland u.a. in New York, Rom, Beijing, Moskau und Wien. Heute lebt und arbeitet der Künstler in Berlin.

Sammlungen mit Arbeiten von Via Lewandowsky

Via Lewandowskys Arbeiten sind in vielen nationalen und internationalen Sammlungen vertreten, in Deutschland unter anderem: Berlinische Galerie, Berlin; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Bonn; DZ Bank Kunstsammlung, Frankfurt a. Main; Bauhaus-Museum, Weimar.

Ausstellungsprojekte und Auszeichnungen

Via Lewandowsky war Teilnehmer bei der documenta IX in Kassel. Viele Museumsaustellungen und Ausstellungsprojekte im In- und Ausland in renommierten Häusern folgten, unter anderem: Ludwig Forum, Aachen; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf; Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig; Kunsthalle zu Kiel; Casa di Goethe, Rom; Q21 Museumsquartier; Wien; PS 1 Contemporary Art Center, New York. Via Lewandowskys Werk wurde mit verschiedenen angesehenen Kunstpreisen ausgezeichnet.

Leitmotive der Kunst von Via Lewandowsky

In der Kunst von Via Lewandowsky sind unter anderem Kommunikation, ihr Scheitern und Erzeugen von Missverständnissen sowie Alltagsgegenstände die Leitmotive.

Alltägliche Gegenstände und Situationen

Via Lewandowsky bringt dem Alltäglichen Be- und Verwunderung entgegen. Bei vielen Arbeiten bindet der Künstler Alltagsobjekte ein oder präsentiert alltägliche Situationen, um aus ihnen weiterführende Fragen und Themen abzuleiten. Dabei thematisiert er oftmals Aspekte wie Absurdes oder Paradoxes von Objekten und Situationen.

Das Satirische bei Via Lewandowsky

Viele seiner skulptural-installativen Werke zielen auf die Dekonstruktion und Umformung von Sinn der präsentierten Ausgangsobjekte und Situationen. Via Lewandowsky bearbeitet sie mit Satire, Anti-Pathos und Tragisch-Komischem. Dies schließt seine Kunst an Fluxus und Surrealismus an.

Unsere Empfehlung: Das neue Werk von Via Lewandowsky

„Glanz der Auslassung/ Apostroph“ – Ein faszinierendes Objekt!

6 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Glanz der Auslassung / Apostroph, 2023
NEU ZUGANG
Lewandowsky, Via
Glanz der Auslassung / Apostroph, 2023
15.000,00 €
Und dann das, 2021
NEU ZUGANG
Lewandowsky, Via
Und dann das, 2021
9.600,00 €
Ain't it some surprise, 2022
NEU ZUGANG
Lewandowsky, Via
Ain't it some surprise, 2022
13.000,00 €
Klinkerklunker, 2021
NEU ZUGANG
Lewandowsky, Via
Klinkerklunker, 2021
6.800,00 €
Goldene Schnitte, 2021
NEU ZUGANG
Lewandowsky, Via
Goldene Schnitte, 2021
35.000,00 €
Goldene Schnitte, 2020
NEU ZUGANG
Lewandowsky, Via
Goldene Schnitte, 2020
6.900,00 €