Heinz Mack

Heinz Mack (1931) is considered internationally to be one of Germany’s most important artists and was a founding member of the ZERO movement.

In 1950 he was a contemporary of Joseph Beuys as a student at the famous Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, to which he also added a course in art education and philosophy. In 1965 Mack acquired a studio in Düsseldorf with Otto Piene, where he began to work with the phenomena of vibration and light.

In 1958 Mack and Piene founded one of the world’s best-known art movements: ZERO, and Günther Uecker also joined in 1961. The core impetus behind ZERO was for the post-war generation to reinvent art from scratch just as German society had completely reinvented itself from 1945. ZERO was totally avant-garde, and works by ZERO artists were highly controversial as they detonated the boundaries of the time.

As well as participating in documenta on multiple occasions, Heinz Mack also represented the Federal Republic of Germany at the XXXV Venice Biennale. Mack’s work was and is featured in museum exhibitions around the world and has also been distinguished with an array of prestigious prizes, most recently with the Moses Mendelssohn Award in 2017.

A central theme in Mack’s work is light, which his sculptures, canvas pieces, and graphics all grapple with. In his works on paper Mack has a unique way of opening up depth in the space.  Mack also carries this impression into his expressive screen prints, which he produces in an unusual process through which the surface of the respective print acquires an intense coloring and produces great visual depth.

“I love color as a medium where light manifests itself. How beautiful is it that we live in a colorful world? If the world were gray I would probably never have become an artist.” – Heinz Mack

► Read our special focus on the ZERO movement here!

16 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Al Ghazali Alles ist Licht
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Alles ist Licht
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali alles von IHM ist
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali alles von IHM ist
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Lob und Preis
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Lob und Preis
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Menschen Herz
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Menschen Herz
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Nische der Lichter
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Nische der Lichter
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Nur der Abglanz
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Nur der Abglanz
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Titel
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Titel
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Weg-Streiter
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Weg-Streiter
€640.00 *
Kunst im Jahr 2000
Mack, Heinz
Kunst im Jahr 2000
€4,200.00 *
Al Ghazali Für Gott
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Für Gott
€640.00 *
Al Ghazali Über die Strahlen
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Über die Strahlen
€640.00 *
Terzett
NEW
Mack, Heinz
Terzett
€8,200.00 *

Heinz Mack

Heinz Mack (1931) gilt international als einer der wichtigsten deutschen Künstler und ist Mitbegründer der ZERO-Gruppe.

Er studierte 1950 zeitgleich mit Joseph Beuys an der bekannten Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf; zudem schloss er eine Ausbildung in Kunsterziehung und Philosophie ab. 1965 bezog Heinz Mack zusammen mit Otto Piene ein Atelier in Düsseldorf und begann sich mit Phänomenen der Vibration und des Lichts zu beschäftigen.

Heinz Mack gründete 1958 mit Otto Piene eine der wohl weltweit bekanntesten Künstlergruppen: ZERO. 1961 kam Günther Uecker hinzu. Der Grundimpuls von ZERO: In der Nachkriegsgeneration sollte auch die Kunst gleichsam aus der Stunde null gänzlich neu gestaltet werden. ZERO war absolute Avantgarde und die Arbeiten der ZERO-Vertreter umstritten, da sie die damals üblichen Grenzen der Kunst sprengten.

Neben der mehrfachen Teilnahme an der documenta vertrat Heinz Mack 1970 die Bundesrepublik Deutschland bei der XXXV. Biennale von Venedig. Das Werk von Mack wurde und wird international in Museumsausstellungen präsentiert und mit zahlreichen renommierten Preisen ausgezeichnet, zuletzt 2017 mit der Moses Mendelssohn Medaille.

Ein zentrales Thema im Werk von Heinz Mack ist das Licht – seine Skulpturen, Leinwandarbeiten und Grafiken setzen sich damit auseinander. Heinz Mack versteht es in seinen Papierarbeiten auf besondere Weise den Raum in die Tiefe zu öffen. Diesen Eindruck überträgt Mack auch auf seine ausdrucksstarken Siebdrucke, die er in einem besonderen Verfahren anfertigt, sodass die Oberfläche des jeweiligen Druckes eine intensive Farbgebung erhält und visuell Tiefe produziert.

»Ich liebe die Farbe als Medium, in dem das Licht zum Ausdruck kommt. Wie schön ist es, dass wir in einer farbigen Welt leben. Wäre die Welt grau, wäre ich wohl nie Künstler geworden.« – Heinz Mack

► Lesen Sie hier unser Themenspecial zur Künstlergruppe ZERO!

15 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Al Ghazali  Weg-Streiter
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Weg-Streiter
640,00 €
Al Ghazali , Mappenwerk mit 20 Siebdrucken
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali , Mappenwerk mit 20 Siebdrucken
3.900,00 €
18226
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali, Buch + eine sign. Grafik
11.199,95 €
Al Ghazali  Alles ist Licht
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Alles ist Licht
640,00 €
Al Ghazali  Lob und Preis
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Lob und Preis
640,00 €
Al Ghazali  Menschen Herz
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Menschen Herz
640,00 €
Al Ghazali  Nische der Lichter
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Nische der Lichter
640,00 €
Al Ghazali  Nur der Abglanz
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Nur der Abglanz
640,00 €
Al Ghazali  Titel
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Titel
640,00 €
Al Ghazali  alles von IHM ist
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali alles von IHM ist
640,00 €
Kunst im Jahr 2000
Mack, Heinz
Kunst im Jahr 2000
4.200,00 €
Al Ghazali  Das Weiße zerstreut
Mack, Heinz
Al Ghazali Das Weiße zerstreut
640,00 €