Christian Sedelmayer

Christian Sedelmayer (born in Munich in 1965) studied painting in Rome in the 1980s and is closely bound to the opera and theater scene. In 1990 he attended the Kammerspiele and Festspiele theater festivals in Munich and Bayreuth, respectively, and since then has been involved in the world of theater as a costume and stage designer as well as working as a director.

Sedelmayer found his way to free fine art in 2015 and today works on large-format screen prints and installations. The Diözesanmuseum Freising commissioned him to design several pieces working with sacred space, which in this context still recall stage images. What remains, though, are the subjects and the theatrical elaboration of the pieces, which are extensive, colorful, and full of contrasts.

Christian Sedelmayer cites famous motifs from art history in his large-format pieces. His screen prints toy with contentual, colorful contrasts, and prompt renewed focus with the famous motifs—almost a contemporary form of pop art.

2 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Prayer
Sedelmayer, Christian
Prayer
€1,900.00 *
Sliding Flowers
Sedelmayer, Christian
Sliding Flowers
€1,900.00 *

Christian Sedelmayer

Christian Sedelmayer (geb. 1965 in München), der in den 1980er Jahren Malerei in Rom studiert hat, ist eng der Opern- und Theaterszene verhaftet. 1990 ging er zu den Münchner Kammerspielen und den Bayreuther Festspielen und ist seitdem als Kostüm- und Bühnenbildner tätig und wirkt ebenfalls als Regisseur.

Sedelmayer findet 2015 zur freien, bildenden Kunst und arbeitet nun an großformatigen Siebdrucken und Installationen. Im Auftrag des Diözesanmuseums Freising gestaltete er etwa mehrere, auf den sakralen Raum eingreifende Arbeiten, die in diesem Kontext noch entfernt an Bühnenbilder erinnern. Was aber bleibt, sind sowohl die Sujets als auch die theatralische Ausarbeitung der Werke: sie sind flächig, bunt und kontrastreich.

Großformatig zitiert Christian Sedelmayer bekannte Motive der Kunstgeschichte. Seine Siebdrucke spielen mit inhaltlichen und farbigen Kontrasten und regen zu einer neuerlichen Beschäftigung mit den bekannten Motiven an – gewissermaßen als zeitgenössische Form der Pop-Art.

2 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Prayer
Sedelmayer, Christian
Prayer
1.900,00 €
Sliding Flowers
Sedelmayer, Christian
Sliding Flowers
1.900,00 €