Karl Otto Götz

As one of the main exponents of German “art informel” as well as abstract art, K.O. Götz (1914, Aachen; † 2017, Wolfenacker) was a truly world-class artist.

He started to grapple with avant-garde painting very early on, which led K.O. Götz to be banned from painting and exhibiting by the Nazis in 1933. This didn’t stop Götz from carrying on his work and developing himself as an artist, however. A number of years later K.O. Götz invented a completely new mixing technique with paste and paint, attracting attention in art circles and bringing him international recognition.

Speed was a necessary resource for me in order to reduce the level of conscious control to a minimum.” – K.O. Götz

His reputation eventually led K.O. Götz to receive a widely coveted professorial chair at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, as prestigious back then as it is to this day. Today K.O. Götz is considered one of Germany’s most important art professors ever: his pupils included ZERO artists like Gotthard Graubner and Gerhard Richter.

K.O. Götz’s works remain as coveted as ever, and large-scale exhibitions in trend-setting museums like Berlin’s Neue Nationalgalerie (2014) show just how much this famous informel artist is appreciated—with good reason, in our opinion!

We developed two expressive lithographs in collaboration with K. O. Götz, which we published exclusively as editions: his famous lithographs Silph and Blonto”.

4 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Blonto
Götz, Karl Otto
Blonto
€1,200.00 *
Silph
Götz, Karl Otto
Silph
€1,140.00 * -5% €1,200.00
Avon
NEW
Götz, Karl Otto
Avon
€2,600.00 *
Foss, Probedruck vor der Auflage
NEW
Götz, Karl Otto
Foss, Probedruck vor der Auflage
€1,600.00 *

Karl Otto Götz

Als einer der Hauptvertreter des deutschen »Informel« und auch der abstrakten Kunst ist K.O. Götz (1914, Aachen; † 2017, Wolfenacker) ein Künstler von Weltrang.

Schon früh setzte er sich mit der avantgardistischen Malerei auseinander, was dazu führte, dass K.O. Götz 1933 ein Mal- und Ausstellungsverbot erhielt. Dieses Verbot hat Götz nicht daran gehindert seine Arbeit fortzusetzen und sich als Künstler weiterzuentwickeln. Etliche Jahre später konnte K.O. Götz so eine ganz neue Mischtechnik von Kleister und Farbe erfinden, was in Künstlerkreisen für Aufsehen sorgte und ihm weltweit Anerkennung brachte.

»Schnelligkeit war ein notwendiges Mittel für mich, um den Grad der bewussten Kontrolle auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren.« – K.O. Götz

Sein Renommee führte schließlich dazu, dass K.O. Götz 1959 eine begehrte Professur an der damals wie heute international berühmten Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie erhielt. Heute gilt K.O. Götz als einer der wichtigsten deutschen Kunstprofessoren jemals – zu seinen Schülern gehören berühmte ZERO-Künstler wie Gotthard Graubner oder Gehard Richter.

Die Arbeiten von K.O. Götz sind so gefragt wie eh, und große Ausstellungen in tonangebenden Museen wie der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin (2014) zeigen eine besondere Wertschätzung des berühmten Informel-Vertreters – und das zurecht, wie wir meinen!

Zusammen mit K. O. Götz haben wir zwei ausdrucksstarke Lithogrphien entwickelt und exklusiv als Editionen verlegt: seine bekannten Lithographien »Silph« und »Blonto«.

 In unserer Biografie über Karl Otto Götz finden Sie weitere interessante Informationen zu Werk und Leben des Künstlers.

2 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Blonto
Götz, Karl Otto
Blonto
1.169,70 €
Silph
Götz, Karl Otto
Silph
1.169,70 €