JR

JR - the internationally renowned French street art artist.

About the artist

The artist, born in Paris in 1983, works under his initials JR (Jean-René) and deliberately remains anonymous. By doing so, he does not want to put his person in the foreground, but his work. JR is considered the rising star in the sky of street art.

At the latest around 2011 JR attained to his international reputation with the appreciation by the TED Prize. This award is given for bold visionary ideas that want to change the world.

In 2013, there was the first museum retrospective of JR's work. Since then, his works have been continuously shown internationally in renowned museums, including the Tate Modern in London, the Brooklyn Museum in New York, and the Kunsthalle Munich.

Street Art: he Street as a Place of Art

Growing up in the banlieues of Paris, JR became interested in street culture at an early age. At the age of 17, he found a camera in the Paris metro, started taking photos, and pasted them on the walls of buildings with the words 'Expo de rue' (street exhibition). This is how JR combined photography with street art. He quickly found that his photographs were noticed by passers-by and created an emotional effect. JR's first exhibition venues were the streets of Paris, and later the world.

»I own the biggest gallery in the world - the walls of the city!« – JR

The artist's paste-ups

JR eventually became famous for his gigantic posters in public spaces, the 'paste-ups'. In street art, 'paste-up' or 'pasting' refers to an artistic poster or paper work that is pasted up.

JR made portrait photographs of unknown people and posterized them in monumental formats on house fronts, trains, container ships or border walls. These huge photo collages in black and white generated great attention. Without further explanation, the relevant social themes of these works become clear.

The works of JR: »Can art change the world?«

Since the 2010s, JR has been creating projects and installations internationally. Some of the works are playful in nature, such as when the artist makes the Louvre pyramid disappear through a trompe l'oeil. But most of the projects are driven by the question, "Can art change the world?"

The stories these projects tell are meant to sharpen our view of the world. JR brings into focus social and political issues such as freedom, engagement, community, identity, borders, migration, globalization, poverty.

JR's art impressively raises open questions and thus encourages dialogue. It should be understood as a perceptive commentary on our society and times. At the same time, JR's work conveys joy and hope.

Project ‚Inside Out‘ by JR

‚Inside Out‘ is a global participatory art project. JR created it in 2011, it takes place in ever-changing locations. The project aims to cross borders and build bridges between people. Almost 450,000 people from over 140 countries have participated so far. Mobile passport photo machines are used to create portrait photos, print them out in oversized format and assemble them into a monumental collage that is posted on a wall in a public space. The project offers individuals and communities from all parts of the world an opportunity to make a statement and share their concerns with the world. Anyone can participate and is encouraged to share untold stories and images of people in their communities through the photo portraits. The photo campaigns will also be documented and exhibited online at www.insideoutproject.net.

JR's ‚Women Are Heroes‘ project

With this project, JR highlighted the essential role of women in society and underscored their dignity in different locations. For this purpose, he photographed the women of a community in their everyday environment. The result was haunting photographs and close-ups of their faces and eyes. In large format, the photographs were installed across the women's neighborhoods and cities, for example on facades or roofs, for everyone to see.

Lithographs as limited editions by JR

JR produces photographs for his actions and installations. JR publishes a selection of these as limited editions - usually they are quickly sold out. The photographs are printed on white art paper in limited editions using traditional lithographic printing presses by Voirin and Marinoni. All lithographs bear the printer's embossing stamp and are signed by JR in the lower right corner (original pencil signature) and numbered in the lower left corner.

► Invitation to our vernissage "JR - Can art change the world?" on May 17, 2024.

18 Artworks
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
Ballet, Palais Royal, Paris, France Ballet, Palais Royal, Paris, France
von JR
Maße: 70 x 50 cm
€1,900.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
Inside out, Times Square, close up Inside out, Times Square, close up
von JR
Maße: 100 x 70 cm
€1,500.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
No Trespassing, Paris, France No Trespassing, Paris, France
von JR
Maße: 70 x 50 cm
€950.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large Medium
Action in Phnom Penh, Peng Panh, Cambodia Action in Phnom Penh, Peng Panh, Cambodia
von JR
Maße: 72.5 x 103 cm
€1,300.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
Unframed, un Groupe Posant Dans une Barque 1930 Unframed, un Groupe Posant Dans une Barque 1930
von JR
Maße: 70 x 100 cm
€1,500.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
Women are Heroes, 28 Millimètres, Brazil Women are Heroes, 28 Millimètres, Brazil
von JR
Maße: 100 x 70 cm
€1,500.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
Skateboards, La Pyramide, Louvre, Paris, 2016 Skateboards, La Pyramide, Louvre, Paris, 2016
von JR
Maße: 60 x 80 cm
€1,200.00 *
JR Skulpturen & Objekte Large
Skateboard, 28 Millimètres Skateboard, 28 Millimètres
von JR
Maße: 20 x 80 cm
€420.00 *
JR Skulpturen & Objekte Large
JR au Louvre et le Secret de la Grande Pyramide JR au Louvre et le Secret de la Grande Pyramide
von JR
Maße: 100 x 56 cm
€1,200.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
NEW
Retour à la Caverne Acte I, 20h40, Palais Garnier Retour à la Caverne Acte I, 20h40, Palais Garnier
von JR
Maße: 70 x 100 cm
Nur noch 1 Exemplar verfügbar!
€1,500.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
NEW
Migrants, Mayra, Picnic across border, Gen. View Migrants, Mayra, Picnic across border, Gen. View
von JR
Maße: 70 x 100 cm
Nur noch 1 Exemplar verfügbar!
€1,500.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
NEW
Inside Out, Haiti, 2012 Inside Out, Haiti, 2012
von JR
Maße: 70 x 100 cm
Nur noch 1 Exemplar verfügbar!
€1,500.00 *
JR Fotografien Grafiken Large
Sparen Sie 10% mit dem Code Gutschein2018 Läuft ab in:

JR

JR – der international renommierte französische Street Art Künstler.

Über den Künstler

Der Künstler, geboren 1983 in Paris, arbeitet unter seinen Initialen JR (Jean-René) und bleibt bewusst anonym. Damit möchte er nicht seine Person, sondern sein Werk in den Vordergrund rücken. JR gilt als der aufgehende Stern am Himmel der Street Art.

Spätestens um 2011 erlangte JR zu seinem internationalen Renommee mit der Würdigung durch den TED Prize. Diese Auszeichnung wird für mutige visionäre Ideen verliehen, die die Welt verändern möchten.

2013 gab es die erste museale Retrospektive zum Schaffen von JR. Seitdem werden seine Werke fortlaufend international in renommierten Museen gezeigt, u.a. in der Tate Modern in London, dem Brooklyn Museum in New York oder der Kunsthalle München.

Street Art: Die Straße als Ort der Kunst

In den Banlieues von Paris aufgewachsen, begann JR sich früh für die Straßenkultur zu interessieren. Mit 17 Jahren fand er eine Kamera in der Pariser Metro, begann Fotos zu machen und klebte sie mit dem Hinweis ‚Expo de rue‘ (Straßenausstellung) an Gebäudewände. So hat JR Fotografie mit Street Art verbunden. Schnell stellte er fest, dass seine Fotografien von Passanten beachtet wurden und einen emotionalen Effekt erzielten. Die ersten Ausstellungsorte JRs waren die Straßen von Paris, später der Welt.

»Ich besitze die größte Galerie der Welt – die Mauern der Stadt!« – JR

Die Paste-ups des Künstlers

Berühmt wurde JR schließlich mit seinen gigantischen Plakatierungen im öffentlichen Raum, den ‚Paste-ups‘. Unter ‚Paste-up‘ oder ‚Pasting‘ versteht man in der Street Art ein künstlerisches Plakat oder Papierwerk, das aufgeklebt wird.

JR fertigte Porträt-Fotografien unbekannter Personen und plakatierte diese in monumentalen Formaten auf Häuserfronten, Züge, Containerschiffe oder Grenzmauern. Diese riesigen Fotocollagen in schwarz-weiß erzeugten große Aufmerksamkeit. Ohne weitere Erklärung werden die relevanten gesellschaftlichen Themen dieser Werke deutlich.

Die Werke von JR: »Kann Kunst die Welt verändern?«

Seit den 2010er-Jahren realisiert JR international Projekte und Installationen. Manche der Werke sind spielerischer Natur, etwa wenn der Künstler die Pyramide des Louvre durch ein Trompe-l'oeil verschwinden lässt. Doch die meisten Projekte sind getrieben von der Frage: „Kann Kunst die Welt verändern?“

Die Geschichten, die diese Projekte erzählen, sollen unseren Blick auf die Welt schärfen. JR rückt soziale und politische Themen in den Fokus, wie Freiheit, Engagement, Gemeinschaft, Identität, Grenzen, Migration, Globalisierung, Armut.

Die Kunst von JR wirft eindrucksvoll offene Fragen auf und regt so zum Dialog an. Sie ist als scharfsinniger Kommentar auf unsere Gesellschaft und Zeit zu verstehen. Zugleich vermitteln JRs Arbeiten Freude und Hoffnung.

Projekt ‚Inside Out‘ von JR

‚Inside Out‘ ist ein globales partizipatorisches Kunstprojekt. JR hat es 2011 ins Leben gerufen, es findet an stets wechselnden Orten statt. Das Projekt möchte Grenzen überwinden und Brücken zwischen Menschen bauen. Fast 450.000 Menschen aus über 140 Ländern haben bisher teilgenommen. Mit mobilen Passbildautomaten werden Porträtfotos erstellt, in überdimensionaler Größe ausgedruckt und zu einer monumentalen Collage zusammengefügt, die an eine Wand im öffentlichen Raum plakatiert wird. Das Projekt bietet Einzelpersonen und Communities aus allen Teilen der Welt eine Möglichkeit, ein Statement abzugeben und ihre Anliegen mit der Welt zu teilen. Jeder kann mitmachen und ist aufgefordert, mit Hilfe der Fotoporträts die noch nicht erzählten Geschichten und Bilder von Menschen in ihren Gemeinschaften zu teilen. Die Fotoaktionen werden auch online unter www.insideoutproject.net dokumentiert und ausgestellt.

Projekt ‚Women Are Heroes‘ von JR

Mit diesem Projekt hat JR an unterschiedlichen Orten die wesentliche Rolle von Frauen in der Gesellschaft hervorgehoben und ihre Würde unterstrichen. Er fotografierte dazu die Frauen einer Community in ihrem alltäglichen Umfeld. Entstanden sind eindringliche Aufnahmen und Close-ups von ihren Gesichtern und Augen. Großformatig wurden die Fotografien quer durch die Viertel und Städte der Frauen etwa auf Fassaden oder Dächern installiert, für jeden sichtbar.

Lithographien als limitierte Editionen von JR

JR fertigt zu seinen Aktionen und Installationen Fotografien an. Eine Auswahl davon gibt JR als limitierte Editionen heraus – meist sind sie schnell vergriffen. Die Fotografien werden mit traditionellen Lithografie-Druckmaschinen von Voirin und Marinoni auf weißem Büttenpapier in limitierter Auflage gedruckt. Alle Lithografien tragen den Prägestempel der Druckerei und sind von JR in der rechten unteren Ecke signiert (Original-Bleistiftsignatur) und in der linken unteren Ecke nummeriert.

10 Kunstwerke
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Ballet, Palais Royal, Paris, France
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Ballet, Palais Royal, Paris, France
880,00 €
Inside out, Times Square, close up
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Inside out, Times Square, close up
1.250,00 €
No Trespassing, Paris, France
NEU ZUGANG
JR
No Trespassing, Paris, France
880,00 €
Action in Phnom Penh, Peng Panh, Cambodia
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Action in Phnom Penh, Peng Panh, Cambodia
1.250,00 €
Unframed, un Groupe Posant Dans une Barque 1930
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Unframed, un Groupe Posant Dans une Barque 1930
1.250,00 €
Woman are Heroes, 28 Millimètres, Brazil
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Woman are Heroes, 28 Millimètres, Brazil
1.450,00 €
Migrants, Mayra, Picnic across the border, Tecate
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Migrants, Mayra, Picnic across the border, Tecate
350,00 €
Migrants, Walking New York City, 2015
NEU ZUGANG
JR
Migrants, Walking New York City, 2015
850,00 €
La Pyramide, Louvre, Paris, 2016
NEU ZUGANG
JR
La Pyramide, Louvre, Paris, 2016
750,00 €
28 Millimètres
NEU ZUGANG
JR
28 Millimètres
350,00 €