Josef Albers

Josef Albers (1888, Bottrop -1976, New Haven, Connecticut)  was a painter, poet, theorist, and sometime educator at the landmark Bauhaus. He is best known for the series of works Homage to the Square, his iconic series of abstract paintings. Albers participated in documenta 1 in 1955 and documenta 4 in 1968.

In 1933, he immigrated to the United States and taught at the legendary Black Mountain College. Among his students were Cy Twombly, Richard Serra and Robert Rauschenberg. Albers was concerned with perceptual theory and color theory. His art educational work, as well as the book Interaction of Color, published in 1963, in which he explains the principles of color theory, formed the basis for art education in the 20th century, both in Europe and in the United States.
Albers' work had a major influence on the emergence of American color field painting. His geometric-optical approaches make him one of the pioneers of Op Art. His work can be classified as Concrete Art.

"In visual perception, a color is almost never seen for what it really is, that is, for what it physically is. Thus color becomes the most relative means of art." - Josef Albers

View works of concrete art and op art


1 Artwork
Sort:
No results were found for the filter!
SP-J
NEW
Albers, Josef
SP-J
€8,900.00 *

Josef Albers

Josef Albers (1888, Bottrop -1976, New Haven, Connecticut) war Maler, Dichter, Theoretiker und zeitweise Pädagoge am richtungsweisenden Bauhaus. Er ist vor allem bekannt für die Werkreihe Hommage to the Square, seine ikonische Serie abstrakter Gemälde. Albers nahm an der documenta 1 im Jahr 1955 teil und an der documenta 4 im Jahr 1968.

Im Jahr 1933 immigrierte er in die USA und lehrte am legendären Black Mountain College. Zu seinen Schülern zählen u.a. Cy Twombly, Richard Serra oder Robert Rauschenberg. Albers beschäftigte sich mit wahrnehmungstheoretischen Überlegungen und der Farbtheorie. Seine kunstpädagogische Arbeit sowie das 1963 veröffentlichte Buch Interaction of Color, in dem er die Prinzipien der Farbtheorie erläutert, bildete die Grundlage für die Kunsterziehung des 20. Jahrhunderts, sowohl in Europa als auch in den Vereinigten Staaten.
Die Arbeit von Albers hatte großen Einfluss auf die Entstehung der amerikanischen Farbfeldmalerei. Mit seinen geometrisch-optischen Ansätzen zählt er zu den Wegbereitern der Op-Art. Sein Werk lässt sich der Konkreten Kunst zuordnen.

"In visueller Wahrnehmung wird eine Farbe beinahe nie als das gesehen, was sie wirklich ist, das heißt, als das, was sie physikalisch ist. Dadurch wird die Farbe zum relativsten Mittel der Kunst.“ – Josef Albers

Werke der Konkreten Kunst und Op-Art anschauen


1 Kunstwerk
Sortieren:
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
SP-J
NEU
Albers, Josef
SP-J
8.900,00 €